Bom

By Bom

Holt in Lockdown

I did my first walk on my walking treadmill this morning. I opened all the windows to get some fresh air and listened to an audiobook - it was a bit weird but ok. Then I filled out the long form sent to me by Santander re my PPI claim. Having done nothing with my complaint for over 6 months, they sent me the form a couple of weeks ago, then wrote a snotty letter saying that I must fill the form in and send it back within 7 days. This afternoon I did my allowed 'outside exercise' and walked into town to post the form back. I took a few photos of the empty high street and main car park on day 1 of lockdown. The butchers, fishmonger and greengrocers were open and budgens, but everything else was closed including Bakers & Larners food hall - I guess the space is too crowded to enforce the 2m social distancing. My friend N is in self isolation with symptoms. 

Day 9 / Day 1 of Lockdown (for my record only)
UK deaths up 87 to 422; Italy up 743 to 6820 and Spain up 514 to 2696. India has been put into full lockdown for 3 weeks. The WHO says that 40% of new confirmed cases are in the U.S. Everyone was send a text re 'coronavirus alert' from the government telling us we must stay at home with a link to more info and exemptions. The FTSE rose 9%. The Olympics and Paralympics have been postponed till next Summer. The daily briefing focused on the health service. A new scheme was launched looking for 250,000 NHS volunteer responders in good health to deliver food etc to those shielded. The call for recently retired NHS staff has so far resulted in 11,788 volunteering to return to work. In addition 5,500 final year doctors and 18,500 final year nurses are to join the NHS. A temporary hospital has been established with the help of the military at the ExCel exhibition centre in London. The Nightingale Hospital will open next week and have two wards, each with 2.000 beds. 3.5 million antibody tests have been bought and a new testing facility set up in Milton Keynes. 7.5 million pieces of Personal Protective Equipment have been shipped out in the last 24 hours. The Health Secretary said that tube services should run in full as trains were still packed this morning on a reduced service. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.