Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Food, glorious food!

I've always enjoyed cooking and love imaginative and tasty dishes made with simple ingredients. This was my lunch today (the same as yesterday's). It's red lentil curry cooked in coconut milk with added spinach, millet and broccoli and carrots in a gluten-free white sauce. Not top marks for presentation, but top marks for deliciousness!

Today I am grateful for food to cook, to the farmers who grow it, the pickers who gather all the elements, the truck-drivers who deliver it and the workers who put the food on the shelves for us to buy.

These days, I'm especially grateful for the Lausanne Scouts Group who left a poster on the front door of my building, offering to do shopping for us and bring it right up to our front door mat. I phoned up a lovely young scout who must be around 16 or 17, with a man's voice and a boy's demeanor. What a darling! I will get my first home delivery this Saturday. Life is good to me. I am one of the fortunate ones.

In extras: the scout's poster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.