WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Daybreak in Hellifield

LOCKDOWN DAY 3

I woke up at 4.45 this morning, so I went downstairs, had a coffee, watched the news then me and Bella May went for our daily walk. It was 5.15 when we set off and the sun was just coming up behind the hill.
We didn't see another soul apart from sheep and birds. You could almost think there was nothing wrong. Nature carries on as normal, the world keeps turning, the sun rises and sets.

I took lots of photos along the way, they're on my instagram and Facebook pages.

We spent the rest of the day in the garden.
Frank made another raised bed so now we have four!
My perennials arrived and I planted them all, along with the flowering blackcurrant shrubs. Tomorrow I will be sowing more seeds in the propagator, planting onion sets and putting 1st and 2nd earlies in the potato bags.

By the way, I clean the front door knocker and letterbox with antibac spray after each delivery of post or parcels. Most don't actually knock, they just leave the parcel on the doorstep.

Today we opened an account with the village shop. They will take our order over the phone any day before 12 noon and deliver it on the doorstep in the afternoon. Payment is over the phone either the same day or at the end of the month.
Also the local garden centre is doing home deliveries so I ordered 9 bags of compost (3 for a neighbour) a blueberry bush and some Lobelia seeds. They will arrive on Monday.

Two good things happened tonight. Our friend Pam from Mocking Birds duo set up an online ukulele night from Haworth Ukulele Group (HUG). It was great fun, but I think I will have to download the Zoom app to get the full benefit.
Then at 8pm there was community clapping at the front door to say thank you to all those frontline staff, carers, teachers, shop staff (Yay Hellifield Shop!)etc.

It's 9pm and I'm off to bed now.

Goodnight - keep safe. ;-) X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.