Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Mothers' Day 6 - Scrophulariaceae

I've always loved the term scrophulariaceae since I learnt it from one of the female TV gardeners in the 80s. However, since then that family of plants has been messed around with and the antirrhinum now seems to be grouped in the Plantaginaceae.

Whatever! It's a lovely snapdragon from my Mothers' Day bouquet.

A lot of confusion this morning over our online grocery order. The Man got an email saying it was cancelled! What? Why? The phone was grabbed. I looked at his account. The order was still listed with today's date. I had an idea. The order had been given a new number after a mistake earlier in the week. I guessed it was THAT previous order which should have come on Tuesday that was cancelled..

We put down the phone and waited. Yes, success! In the appointed slot the van arrived. Some items were for a vulnerable person who couldn't yet get on the delivery list so I felt justified in going out to make a delivery and to fill up a nearly-empty petrol tank so that I could feel we were fully ready for any eventuality next week.

Disappointing local news: I had fully appreciated that it wasn't reasonable to drive out to the recycling centre at present but, not only are they all closed in the county, our town council has suspended doorstep collection of garden waste and large household items. There is going to be a lot of fly-tipping!

Lockdown Day 3.  Good thing today: Smiling deliver man and forecourt cashier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.