Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Foy: The tree and the bramble bush

I used to have a book of Aesops Fables. I think my children have the same book. Its probably hidden under a bed somewhere or under a pile of other bed time stories. This picture reminded me about the fable about tree and the bush. I was trying to find the book so that could paraphrase out of it.

I think fable went that the tree thought that it was so fine and beautiful and that it mocked the bush for being squat and ugly. The wood cutter came and chopped the boasting tree down for firewood. The bush was pleased to be a lowly fruit bush. The moral of the fable was, "People who are too proud may be sorry later".

I didn't know that Aesop was such an old writer. Aesop's Fables or the Aesopica is a collection of fables credited to Aesop, a slave and story-teller believed to have lived in ancient Greece between 620 and 560 BC.

A philosopher wrote of Aesop Apollonius of Tyana, a 1st century AD philosopher, is recorded as having said about Aesop: .. "like those who dine well off the plainest dishes, he made use of humble incidents to teach great truths, and after serving up a story he adds to it the advice to do a thing or not to do it. "

Aesop must have been read more times than Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, or the Hobbit....maybe? x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.