An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

St John's Street Gate

Thanks to all who commented on my last two entries, especially as I have not replied to a single one.

My head was in a very bad place, peaking with yesterday's - it looks exactly how I felt - hot-headed and angry but deeply ugly underneath - my pics usually mirror my moods and in some ways a Journal, such as Blip should show something more personal than streams of images, one after each other.

The blue-toned one the day before shows how I was tightly controlled - the neat row of terraced houses but 'upstairs', the mass of branches and twigs, was where my head was - a mess.

Being so personal, there are no rights and wrongs with either and every comment, for or against are equally valid - and appreciated. Therefore, I'm not going to comment or justify what I came up with - the taking of them was an important thing for me to do, a kind of release, if you like, very much as an artist would do.

Unrelated photographic news

So, the Nikkor 18-200 VR that I've been using a bit more recently finally got returned as faulty - it had six months warranty and this time I'm grateful for that. Being 2nd hand, I'm still to hear what the shop manager will say, or offer, whether it'll be a lengthy repair or a replacement.

So, after the anger and mayhem I've gone for a much more normal Blip, possibly less interesting of course and certainly much less artistic. It's good to be back on Planet Earth, frankly.

This is a late night (still flippin' cold!) town walkabout, with the D700 and fast standard 24-70mm f2.8 Sigma. This is handheld, at its widest and I since fiddled with both exposure and perspective - not up and down, but laterally. I couldn't step back further and if I'd moved to the left, I'd have included something I didn't want. Lighting is from a street lamp just out of shot on the right - I decided to keep this bright orangey hue.

This medieval gate is the entrance to the (Salisbury) Cathedral, from, as you can see, St John St. The Cathedral Close is in effect a walled community that is locked at 11, so it was closed at this point. I'm looking right up and over this wooden gate, the spikes being the top of it. You can see a gargoyle (these make great subjects on their own) protruding and its shadow about halfway up the wall.

I remain somewhat behind with my fellow Blipper's work but endeavour to spend some quality time over the weekend catching up.

Thanks for your understanding!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.