Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Transforming

Although it is rainy and cool today, I spent about an hour in the hide allowing the world to slip away briefly.  There were at least a dozen little American Goldfinches in the garden, with many males well into their molt.  It is easy to forget how brilliantly plumed they are in the summer, contrasting to their rather drab winter "wear".  This male is about half way molted with big patches of bright yellow visible and the start of what will be a jaunty black cap.  I thought there might be something faintly symbolic about a bright bird against a rather bleak background. Perhaps a reminder that brighter days will eventually come?

Had a nice long phone chat with my parents this morning.  Trying to fly out to visit them right now is totally out of the question, but I miss them very much.  Hearing their voices helped.  They are keeping well away from people and managing to stay healthy.  

Meanwhile, cases in NYC and NJ continue to jump and now the President is making noises about placing us all under quarantine orders. One of the very few times I actually think he may be on the right path.  If quarantining will slow this down, I'm all for it, no matter the inconvenience.  I have a few friends in other parts of the country who still don't think this is serious - I'm not sure what to think about that.  Maybe denial?  Of course, just a short month ago, could any of us foreseen where we are now?

I was telling one of my best blip-buddies the other day that the last time I felt this frightened and uncertain about the future was right after 9-11 when we could still see the smoke rising over what was once the World Trade Center.  

Be safe, people.  Don't take any unnecessary risks, but keep looking out for one another.  Be kind...  Which reminds me of something I saw yesterday when Hubs and I walked in the park.  A message in pinecones left by another hiker.  I'll pop it in Extra.

xo
Debbi

Covid 19 Stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 2PM today - 11,124
Deaths in NJ - 140
Positive cases in Sussex County -  81
Deaths in Sussex County - 1 (a 68 year old woman admitted to hospital on Weds.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.