Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Earth Hour

This year, we actually remembered to observe it, thanks in part to SweetArt whose blip I happened to read just half an hour earlier. The reason we often forget to switch the lights off is that since 1996, the Dubai World Cup has always coincided with Earth Hour.

So, today has been productive. The house got blitzed in the morning. Hoovering (by me) followed by mopping (by G) and other miscellaneous tidying up. The curtains you see in the picture (hers) got washed and put back up again. She is very happy. I'm happy that my room is finally back to normal after all the things that got put it in whilst dealing with the water leak/preventative maintenance have finally been put back. And whilst we have an abundance of time to catch with all the things I've been neglecting putting off for the longest time, I finally backed up my entire Blip folder (nearly eight years worth) to my OneDrive. But first, I had the small task of renaming the first three years of blips with the year prefix before the file name. Fortunately, a quick internet search helped find an app that did it in literally seconds. :) GK happy! :D

I love that OneDrive notifies me of pictures taken "On this day" and this morning, I saw all my 28th of March blips since 2012 without having to click on any buttons.

Coming back to Earth hour, I can't wait to get the facts and figures of the environmental impact of the entire planet going into lockdown. The Earth has a chance to heal itself. Greta Thunberg should be pleased. It is so quiet here. No whirring of a/c units, no lights from the businesses downstairs. I haven't been out of the building to see how quiet the street is, but I certainly didn't hear much traffic. I hope we don't go into overdrive trying to make up for lost opportunities.

And lastly, today I was made aware that someone I worked with years ago has tested positive for COVID-19. It's the first person I know personally who has the virus. She is OK at the moment but her husband is in hospital fighting with all he's got. It's so sad. They are parents to triplets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.