Sideshow

They're on the north facing side if my house and are a show, hence sideshow. :-)

The fiery sedum are at their peak and the low growing Mt Tamborthia grevillea to the left of them are a happy Aussie. The little bit of yellow is Day Lilies. They're all coming along nicely.

The sedum and lilies struggled with aphids. Lots of seaweed, sheep pellets, and aged horse poop later and they're thriving. I also added heavy soil I dug out elsewhere and mixed it in. It's all about the soil.

On the other side of the green wind cloth are 2 feijoas. In time they'll provide shelter from the prevailing nor'easterly wind.

I was up and out early walking and running. My toe felt good and I had no calf twinge. My physio wilk be pleased.

After a long catch up phone call with a friend I tackled the vege garden. It will help keep me fed and nourished, and lessen the number of times I need to shop.

I harvested cos lettuce in the brink of going to seed. It's washed and bagged in the fridge and will last a while. I harvested spinach and cooked it up before it wilted.

During the week I'd nurtured the vege plants I was given last weekend. They're dotted among other things that are still producing. It's interesting, a couple of spinach plants I'd normally have dug out, I trimmed and left. Maybe the new growth will come awat, maybe it wont.

Most of my tomatoes are harvested. Some are ready and others will ripen inside.

Today's gratitude: For the the joy of seeing that both of my kowhai have new growth. Both were recently decimated by hundreds of caterpillars from the native moth. I'm thrilled. Nature provides many metaphors and signs of hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.