Looking for the beauty

By looking4beauty

Day 8 Weekly shop & a change in the weather

A change in the weather today meant that it clouded over about 9 and we even had a tiny bit of rain.
As I was awake early, I checked the new opening times and headed to Sainsbury's for 8 o'clock. When I arrived I could see a queue starting to loop around the carpark so I grabbed a trolley and joined it (see extra). The queue went down really quickly but I was surprised how many people were actually in the shop as I thought they were restricting numbers. Social distancing was difficult around the fruit and vegetables especially and some people were just unaware of other people trying to keep their distance. I saw lots of people wearing gloves, some in masks and others with scarves over their faces. I was pleasantly surprised by the stock of loo rolls, meat, fruit and vegetables and hand wash but tins and other things were still in short supply. I spent more than normal as multipacks, own brands and larger quantities (eg 6 pints of milk) were not available. I felt guilty getting my normal weekly shop but we're a family of 5 adults so we need a lot of food! I'd rather do a big shop weekly than pop out every day for bits and pieces. Surely that's safer?
When I got home, I wiped down the food with baby wipes before putting it away.
The rest of the day was spent on the exercise bike, reading and then when Chris got home from work, we went for a walk. It was bitterly cold but the light was beautiful as we arrived in the Quarry so I took some shots of the Welsh bridge, St Chad's and the bandstand. The Quarry was deserted and we saw less people than normal on our walk so didn't have to cross the road quite as many times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.