Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Colours for WildflowerWeek

Green Alkanet - Pentaglottis sempervirens..

The 2020 WildflowerWeek challenge begins from today.  You have until midnight, Saturday 4th April to get your entries in.  Today's tag is WFW20_01.  Result will be announced the following Wednesday (8th April)

I've put full info on the Challenges page and I very much hope we can get this to work under current difficult circs.  I shall be relying on my daily exercise walks and my garden.  Perhaps I'm being optimistic but I think there can hardly be a garden in the world that doesn't have the odd wildflower or six!  So let's see what we can come up with..

As for Green alkanet - well, I always want to call 'blue alkanet' because of its flowers, but that isn't it's name.  And I have just read in Grigson's Englishman's Flora that the word alkanet comes via Spanish from the Arabic al-henna because it's roots contain a red dye.  A multi-coloured plant, in fact.  So do we, in part, have another rainbow?

Talking of which, thank you all so much for your kindness to yesterday's rainbow lady - really lovely of you.

Stay well and happy  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.