Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Quiet Sunday

After the short night, I was wakened at what appeared to be 6.30am by the sun shining straight onto my face - and realised it was actually 7.30 and this would be the new normal. (Not the sun, obviously ...) There was, bizarrely, the usual rush to get to church - even though it was merely a matter of going into the study. I did, however, put my face on - seemed too awful to reveal my morning face and bed hair to the camera. We had a Taize hymn at the end of today's service; we were providing the lead so have little idea of how it sounded to other individuals. The video sound is a bit tinny.

Coffee with friends - again virtually - took us almost to lunchtime, followed by the usual somnolent spell of reading. At least I'm getting on with my book now that we're not going out for the Sunday paper ...

And then out. I'm blipping the bend on the shore road at Castle Toward, with the sailing club on my left and the shore path of the Ardyne going off beyond it. I love the outline of the bare trees, though I loved the blue sky more! It is noticeably quiet - it's strange, given the constant emphasis on going out "for exercise", that more people aren't doing it. The road was blessedly free of traffic; we were passed by a couple of cyclists (not together) and saw a distant walker on the shore. We could hear birds, and the gentle sound of the sea on the beach - and nothing else. Often on a day like this we can hear cars on Bute, but even that was missing.

It was glorious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.