Raestelle

By Raestelle

At Glenelg - South Australia....

Right on the beach, with the jetty behind stands this lovely memorial erected to commemorate the hundredth anniversary of the Foundation of the Province of South Australia - 1836 - 1936.
South Australia is the State I was born in and this memorial sure hasn't got any smaller since I was little. (You know how things look TALL or LARGE when one is small..)
The little ship HMS "BUFFALO" sitting right up on top intrigued we children from the country..
The first settlers in South Australia came out from Britain on this ship.
Anyway, Her Majesty the Queen and His Royal Highness The Duke Of Edinburgh landed at Glenelg from HMY "BRITANNIA" in March 1977 during the Royal Jubilee Tour, and as well, visited Glenelg in 1986.
My 4 year- old brother told my parents when he grew up he was going to "get that ship right down!" But it's still there sitting majestically overlooking the pretty little suburb of Glenelg.
I have a letter written by one of Her Majesty's ladies-in-waiting (a distant relative) from the HMY "BRITANNIA" whilst she was here in 1956..(I've just put that in as a matter of interest, probably only to me!!!)
This was taken this a.m. before returning back home to Victoria...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.