Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Huey, Dewey and Louie with Daisy in their sights

I decided to walk to where JD saw a kingfisher during our trek on Sunday. 
Obviously I was going to try and photograph it so I had to walk the estimated 3+miles there carrying my long lens.
Again I hardly saw a soul but, as I crossed over the main A road, there were noticeably more vehicles. 
Sunshine all the way and quite bracing in the wind.

As I arrived at the bridge (camera still in backpack so I looked like I was out just to get some exercise), there was my quarry sitting across on the other bank. Being on the bridge I was very conspicuous and he/she quickly flew off (camera still in bag !)
I decided to scramble down the bank and wait for its return.
A couple of dippers turned up to amuse me - one of them is in extras
After about 20 minutes a voice suddenly said

 'Are you alright? Have you fallen down there?


"No, I'm fine. I'm trying to photograph a kingfisher"


"Oh!, my husband will be pleased. He saw them here last year............."

After what seemed like an eternity, she stopped talking, a long time after I had stopped listening.
At that moment it flew by again  "$£*T !"

Peace and quiet returned and after another eternity I saw it again flying up the river.
Sadly I didn't get a photo but will return to try again.

By the river it was quite warm so I carried on downstream with the intention of walking home in a loop of about 10 miles.

The male mallards were bullying a single female. I watched as six of them nearly drowned her in their efforts to mate. :-(

I hadn't taken into account the rough ground and how my poor foot was going to react. By the time I reached civilisation I had to call the home worker to come and pick me up.
I'd managed nearly 6 miles but I realised that I will have to curb my wanderings for a few days until my foot has healed

Day total 5.9miles
Year total 270.1 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.