Life Savors

By osuzanna

They're Back!

I was delighted to see a couple of these tiny blue butterflies, flitting around.  They are small, about the size of a quarter and don't stay put for long, so this was taken with the telephoto lens and heavily cropped. 

I am trying to keep busy so I did a little baking this morning.  I made some banana bread from our over-ripe bananas. We are trying very hard not to waste any food, as getting groceries delivered is not a guarantee without a long wait.  

The picture becomes grimmer each day.  Twenty-eight states are now on lockdown, but I can't help feeling that all states should be on lockdown. The most outrageous thing we learned today is that the federal government has not stepped in to manage the medical equipment supply chain and states are bidding against each other and FEMA is bidding against all the states, so the prices just keep rising.  This is total insanity. The Feds need to take charge and manage this....if they are capable.  One has to wonder about that.  

We calculated that we made the decision to stay home March 12th (our anniversary) and so we are well into our third week.  We only go out for exercise and photography and we always maintain social distancing. Because we are retired, this has not been a difficult adjustment for us but I do feel for those who are used to working everyday and suddenly not working.  I also feel for those who are living alone.  Our neighbor's daughter is a 30 something single in NYC and her father drove up a couple of days ago, packed her up and brought her home. I am glad that #2 son who is single is with us. 

We are having a family Happy Hour via Zoom on Friday with NYC and Las Vegas kids.  My husband and I tested it out this morning and it is brilliant.  Looking forward to seeing all their gorgeous faces and having a chat over some wine. 

Stay safe,  blip friends. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.