BarbarArtistPDX

By BarbarArtistPDX

Accidental Art in the Park

I’ve been ill for almost 6 weeks now. First a cold that wasn’t too bad, then I was slammed by what turned out to be influenza. I only know this because I was having Covid19 symptoms, and finally got tested, and received a negative on the test.

I’ve been out 3 times in the past three weeks. Once to go get the test, once on a 20 minute walk in the park two days ago, and another walk today. I was humbled, walking uphill, my lungs not anywhere near normal capacity . That said, it was liberating to even walk a short while, to be in fresh air, to see colors.

This image, the most colorful thing I saw, is a closeup of one of the cement road bumpers beside the path. It has been painted, peeled, repainted, tagged by street artists, and peeled again. I love that it’s there, a tribute to the less obvious beauty among the greenery. It’s a reminder of the unplanned and collaborative nature of emerging beauty. And it reminded me that, despite my limited capacities, I still have a strong capacity to spot the beautiful in unlikely places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.