The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

EB: the anti-scurvy plate

I never thought that cookery would keep me sane during lockdown. But it turns out that when I have time, I enjoy cooking for myself and others ((CleanSteve) and there's a challenge to finding recipes that use up the right combination of fresh ingredients in good time.

Today: fresh pineapple, raspberries and blueberries for breakfast: leftovers for lunch : home made chocolate brownie at tea time: parsnip, leek, ginger and leftover chicken soup for supper, with a choice of leftover puddings from the fridge. Must stay at this hotel more often.

I forgot to take any snaps, despite being out in the community with and without CleanSteve, so this plate will remind me to make lemon and lime sorbet tomorrow. We both bought limes, around the start of lockdown!

In other news, I discovered how to use the grill part of the microwave, after five years. Apparently the terrible smell of burning, and outpouring of smoke, is normal when it's used for the first time. These alarming events had put me off in the past, but today I finally had time to read the manual.

On the BBC Sounds App, I found a quartet of A. S. Byatt's novel dramatised. I listened to the first part, the Virgin in the Garden, while trying to crack on with a difficult jigsaw. Next part tomorrow, I reckon.

I also deep-cleaned the dust and cobwebs from the dining room. Can one deep-clean the ceiling, or is that hi-level cleaning?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.