The Self Isolating Bird Club

I am now tuning into Chris Packham's Self Isolating Bird Club on YouTube every morning at 9am, live from his home in the New Forest. It is getting me off to a positive start to the working day at home - and is just my thing. Recommended. 

I have started my own bird list. I count any bird seen or heard from the garden.

As I cannot step away from the house and our too small garden, it is limited, but needs must. So far - house sparrow (breeding in the roof, nests lined with the hair of next doors terrier); great tit (nest building in a bird box); blue tit (possibly nesting in the other bird box); long tailed tit; dunnock (possibly nesting, well hidden); blackbird; mistle thrush; song thrush; goldfinch; starling; pied wagtail; magpie; wood pigeon; collared dove; crow; herring gull; canada goose; buzzard

Not a long list, and notable common birds not seen (they may be in other nearby gardens). So the list will get longer. 

This is our current resident male blackbird. 

Blackbird songs differ. Two years ago we had one we christened "okey dokey", because that's how he kept finishing his phrases. He fell prey to the local sparrowhawk. This year we have "now you can't see me", because that phrase keeps cropping up (J reckons it's "I think I'm a peewit"). No mistaking who's singing when he tunes up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.