Blues

The Office was busy. 

No-one was in it except me obviously. One guy tried to come in, but happily moved on when I told him to f*ck off we are closed.  

After speaking to a few people on the phone I decided I am better off with just the paperwork at home. The Boss can deal with the tough stuff. He gets paid to do that. 

One woman should self isolate (transplant recipient) for 12 weeks minimum, but cannot afford to live on UK sickness benefit (£94 per week). She has to choose between going into debt or going back to work in a care home. 

One man has had to shut his business and make 20 staff redundant because the tax people took £20,000 from him in error, and will take weeks to refund him. He cannot get his bank to answer the phone. The (UK) Government furlough scheme is not operational yet. 

Usually I am good at shutting the door on that stuff when I shut the Office door at 5pm, but these are unusual times. Enforced solitude in the evening is not helpful. 

On my way home I stopped at the harbour in Dysart to get a bit of fresh air. I wonder how many of these boats will get into the water this season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.