Visitor

I was back working at home today. 

Yesterday the Boss finished work in Parliament about 8pm, when the Coronavirus (Scotland) Bill was passed (unanimously). They had started about 9am. When he got to the station to take the train home, he was faced with a 90 minute wait for a train which would take almost 90 minutes to get here - an emergency timetable is in force. He was lucky to get his partner’s daughter to come and collect him. 

The point is, he was sluggish today. Accordingly, the pressure was off the rest of us. 

The Bill had so many amendments proposed to it, I have no idea what is in the final version. As a result, I had to be careful what information to pass on to the public because it could have been yesterday’s version of This Life in an Alternative Universe. Where possible, I avoided giving any information.

Truth

It all made for a different kind of day.

Junior came to visit. Yes, I know. Breaking all the rules, you think. In fact, he is moving out of his flat in Edinburgh (moving house is exempt from the restrictions) and although he will be staying with his mum, some stuff will be stored here. He would probably have stayed here, but one of his former flatmates got the virus so Junior had to stay away from me for 14 days.   

We kept our distance obviously, but it was great to just sit and talk. 

I had forgotten I had lent him the deposit for the flat, so I am about to get some money I wasn’t expecting.

A double positive. 

His employer has put him on this (UK) Government furlough scheme, so he will get 80% of his earnings while his workplace is shut down. 

Another positive. 

The Blip is my Monday morning project - moving my Office work stuff into my study. I want my dining table back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.