Baking lesson

I started today with a morning – I am still running plenty, 4 days a weeks. Because I don’t need to get the children up as early for school I am running later nowadays – no more 5am starts. A much more reasonable 6.30am. Then I get the children up and ready to start working at 9am.



Working with the children went well today. I helped my son with English work and also some History. He has been learning about King James I and so we did some research and he made a fact file. It was actually very interesting. What was also nice was that he was born in Edinburgh Castle, which we visited last year. My daughter was tasked with researching the Magna Carta which was interesting too.



We went for a walk around 5pm today to get the children out of the house. I have been really struggling with walking in the evening because I get such cold feet and toes. They get so bad that they hurt so much, turn white and go numb. My husband has commented that this isn’t normal and researched it. He thinks it is a condition called Raenards Syndrome and having looked it up think he is probably right. There is no cure, and the condition can be brought on by high stress low weight, both of which I have suffered with in the past. Once you have it, it cannot be reversed. The only way to deal with it is to avoid the cold and wrap up! What happens is that the blood vessels go into spasm, which is why it is so painful.

When we got home my daughter and I made a small cake as for part of her school plan they were due to decorate a cake in her cooking class. So we made the cake and she will decorate it tomorrow. So here is the cake looking lovely, ready for the artist to get to work tomorrow!

For dinner I made a risotto – bacon and pea for the family and butternut squash for me. I love butternut squash but the family don’t. I don’t eat meat anymore so it is a good compromise for us all.

In between schooling and other chores I managed to speak to my mum who is finding things a little difficult and I also did quite a lot of writing for my book. If ever there will be a good time to get my book written this is it!

My daily quote for you today is:

“Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does.” William James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.