Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

About time

After 3 years or so of vague promises that my bosses may find a way for us to be able to work from home, it has finally happened. Pity it took a pandemic to escalate the solution, but well done to our tech guys for putting it together inside a week for all but the most critical key workers in our department (who really do have to continue to work in the office).

I made one last visit to the office on Monday to pick up a large desktop PC ( hidden under the table) and monitor - the peripherals, second monitor and cables come from my personal store (amazing what is accumulated in xxxx years of using home computers), and the laptop is my normal work device for company comms etc.

This is now my work desk for the foreseeable future.  Good in some ways that I don’t have the 50-60min drive each way to work, and I’m getting a dab hand at using the video conferencing and messaging facilities. I think I may miss the human contact and it’s a good job I live alone as there is now nowhere to eat other than on the sofa in front of the TV

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.