Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Shingles

Tomorrow we are having our new roof installed.  Today the supplies were delivered.  When the workers pulled up in their truck we went out to talk to them (from a safe distance).  They told us that they would back into the driveway and put the materials on the roof.  However, they told us, our driveway might crack under the weight of the truck.  What??  I asked if they were going to pay for any damages and they said no.  So I said no, they couldn't back onto the driveway.  He said he would call his boss and went back to the truck.  In the meantime, I called the contractor and told him the situation and said they would have to figure out another way or guarantee that they would pay for any damage.  Then I waited.  About 10 minutes later, the delivery guys came back out and said that they would unload the materials onto the driveway.  Good thing we were home - they said we didn't need to be.  So my wide angle blip today might fit the theme of TOWN because this is the most exciting thing that's happened in our part of town for the past month!  Many thanks to Freyjad for hosting WideWednesday this week!

Before that bit of excitement (that had all my neighbors outside watching) I put on my mask and gloves and went to Walmart for groceries.  Fortunately, the store wasn't crowded and I found everything I wanted.  The toilet paper aisle is still empty.  Weird!  Where is it all going??  While I was gone, PD set up a long table in the garage for me to unload my purchases.  Then I spent another hour disinfecting all the packages while PD washed all the produce, then carried the clean groceries into the house and put them away.  Then I took a long shower.  I even washed my face with antibacterial soap.  Great for the skin - not!  What an ordeal!  I used to say I hated shopping but that's not even close to how I feel about it now!

I am grateful that we won't require any more trips to the store for about two weeks!  As for the roof tomorrow, I have a feeling that it might be postponed.  Today would have been perfect with 70F and sunny.  Tomorrow's forecast is a high of 36F with intermittent rain/snow showers.  So we'll see....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.