Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was in the low 70s today!  I still wore tights but had on a sleeveless shirt under a light jacket.  The jacket was packed away after a few miles and the sun and wind felt great on my bare arms!  Next time I might even wear shorts. :-)

Top row:         What could be better on a sunny afternoon than a margarita truck?  I didn't stop. :-)
                         Black -billed Magpie.  S/he was in perfect light to show the beautiful wing and tail feather colors.  Looks like s/he might be collecting for nest building.
                         I stopped to get a shot of this tiny calf and got yelled at by the farmer for taking pictures of his livestock.  I apologized but was happy that I managed to get a good shot before I was chased away.  Not sure why.  I was on the road, not on his property. 

Middle:           The sign says, "Bicycles may use full lane".  Boulder County is very bicycle friendly and there are signs like this on a lot of mountain roads.
                        Trixie and I reached 2000 miles together on today's ride!
                        Paraglider in St. Vrain Canyon.  I watched for a long time to see where s/he would land but s/he never seemed to lose any altitude.  I finally went on my way as s/he disappeared behind a ridge.

Bottom:         Whitetail deer posing nicely for me.
                       Great Blue Heron waiting on the nest for a mate.
                       I'm not good with car IDs but I thought this one looked nicely restored.

I am grateful for the warmer weather.  It's supposed to be in the low 80s by Sunday!  I plan on taking full advantage of the beautiful weather before it gets too hot!  Today I rode 36 miles. :-)



                        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.