An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Clapping for Carers...

Or in David's case, banging a pot with a wooden spoon (whilst looking for divine inspiration apparently! :-)

We joined countless other people around the country to clap a tribute of thanks for all the people caring for us during these troubled times.  

The houses in our street are quite far apart and we know our neighbour is in America, so weren't sure if we would hear any others clapping, but we did!  Very faintly there was someone mirroring my claps and someone else banging on a pot.  I am sure further into town there would be lots of support for these amazing people.

I want to say more about everyone out there who is working to keep us safe and well, and keeping the country running, but I will save that for tomorrow when I will have my Hearts for Heroes shot organised.

I have to admit to becoming slightly obsessed with the daily figures charting the rise and spread of this virus.  My reason is due to the way decisions will be made about who gets access to critical care should ICUs become overwhelmed and find themselves having to decide who lives and who dies.  (I mentioned this on my blip on 23rd March "in other cheery news, I found out today that going by the critical care list used by the NHS to decide who gets priority access to life support in a "too many to treat" scenario, the magic number to score on the list is 5 or below.  Alan and I score 6 and 7 respectively.)

I am shocked that medics really could find themselves put in such a position (can you imagine the horror of having to make that decision and the aftermath of having to live with it?!) but more shocked that a life's worth could be measured so callously and coldly, as laid out in the critical care guidelines.  

The more I have thought about it, the angrier I have become and find the situation completely unacceptable.  I have tried so hard to articulate my thoughts on this, but when I saw A Plea for our lives earlier today I knew I had found the right spokesperson.  Please watch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.