The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Shy

Gus and I went out before dawn this morning to make the most of the snow when it was still fresh and crunchy. I took lots of photographs of the sunrise, one of the few times I have seen it this year, and there were plenty of potentially acceptable blips.

But with a bit of help from the blip consultant and Arnside Simon (who is doing some brilliant decorating work for us at the moment), I have gone with this shot of Gus who thought he was hidden from me and the camera. I had been off the footpath trying to get an arty shot of an old hazel leaf still on the twig with a bokeh background from all the melting snow water droplets. I turned round and there was Gus waiting patiently, shyly hiding behind a small tree trunk.

He's had a happy day with two long walks in the snow, the second accompanied by Wifie, his favoured walking companion. We were trying to teach him to chase and fetch a frisbee. The poor lad has never been taught to play with toys, and he doesn't know what to do when it is thrown. But he did enjoy a good runaround.

The snow has turned to slush, and the slush is turning to flowing water as the snow rapidly thaws in the falling rain. And as I write Bob is stretched out in front of the fire, and Gus is snoozing at Wifie's feet. We have all been fed and have just watched the amazing Eddie the Eagle do a brilliant dive off the 10 metre board.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.