The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Inseparable

It was a horrible morning as the forecasters said it would be, though goodness knows we have been spared the rain and flooding that has afflicted other parts of the country. It brightened up in the afternoon, and we went for a longer walk than yesterday, but starting as so often with going over the Knott. Here Gus and Wifie are stood being buffeted by a ferocious wind with the backdrop of Morecambe Bay, Wifie is bracing herself against the tree, not leaning casually on it.. I often try to sit Gus in this place for a photo, but he won't have it when there's just me and him. It's much easier when Wifie is with us, as he is completely inseparable from her.

During the squally rain of the morning, I did the Big Garden Birdwatch. In the 1 hour timed count I recorded 50 birds of 14 species, missing some of the usual species such as great tit and jackdaw, but having two that I have not had on the day in previous years (wren and pheasant). Later in the morning there was a male reed bunting in the garden, the first of the winter, but too late to be counted.

Thank you for all the comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's. I am sorry once again that I am so far behind with comments. We were late back last night, Philomena was wonderful, I'm so glad we went to see it. By now, I guess the story is quite well known, but I had tried very hard not to find out what it was about before we saw it.

A year ago, one of my favourite Gus photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.