Off the plan

Today I woke up quite early (I’ve been doing that a bit recently despite falling asleep quite late). I guess with any ‘new normal’ we start different habits whether we want to or not. I eventually climbed out of bed at 10am having read for a couple of hours.

I did the walk at the back of my house (about 4.5 miles in a circuit) which involves a hard 15 minute climb up a hill. Went to a local convenience store to buy some bits of food - everyone in the store (6 or 7 of us) were being very polite and mindful, giving good regard to social distancing except one woman in her late 40s/ early 50s who was just following her own agenda and getting in people’s faces- at one point I genuinely wondered if she was actively hoping to catch the virus. She was actively walking around the store in the opposite direction of the arrows on the floor and reaching in front of people to grab at items, sometimes wiping her hands on them and putting them back.

This blip is of my walk back home, this is the road I take which descends back down towards my house. I was quite cold with the unexpected breezy weather during the walk and when I got home I had to wrap up in a blanket and MrH had to turn the heating up for me remotely from Ireland (I’d already tried to do this manually and failed).

My best friend called for a catch up which was super lovely and MrH’s brother called - he sounded like he’d been very busy and was getting used to being locked down and making the most rather than dwelling on the frustration of it all.

I cooked a lasagna for dinner and was brave enough to cope with going in and out of the kitchen for a while hour at Rat O’clock. I ate outside in glorious sunny warm weather with classical music playing from my front room. I’ve become a bit of a fan of that newish classical station Scala. I love classical music but I’m not a fan of musicals and they occasionally play some of that kind of thing. I was listening to Mark Kermode (sp?) this afternoon and he was playing some of the Twin Peaks sound track, explaining a bit about the characters/scenes and stated that he wrote the sleeve notes for the UK version of the soundtrack album- you learn something new everyday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.