Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ornitherapy... Saturday Edition

A day spent largely outdoors, with some gardening, some weeding and some orthitherapy.  

I know I've posted a lot of American Goldfinches lately, but I find them rather irresistible especially as they start showing their summer finery.  Although the males are a bit more striking with their jaunty black caps, the females are also really pretty as they shed their winter clothes.  Soon, this lady will be a lovely soft lemony-yellow.  If you are wondering about her rather zoftig appearance, she was just in the middle of a fluff when I shot this.  A full-fluff, mid-shake shot in Extra.

Our cherry trees are starting to bloom - very early but we had such a mild winter that everything is ahead of schedule.  I've been watching closely for bees as usually they arrive en masse when the blooms pop.  So far, I've seen two bumble bees which may simply mean that it's too chilly yet for the smaller bees or that it's too early.  Tomorrow will be in the 60's so that will tell the story.  My poor long-suffering Hubs dreads the arrival of the bees, but I am always thrilled when they show up.  

I slept very poorly last night so hoping I'll do better tonight.  I shall force myself not to read any news before I turn in for the night.  In fact, I've largely avoided the news at all today other than a quick check this morning.  The numbers in New Jersey continue to rise.  I think I read yesterday that, if we were a country, we'd be # 6 in the world in terms of number of positive cases.  Not a distinction anyone wants, if its true. We will probably be over 40,000 by early next week...

Keep doing all you can to stay safe, people.  

xo
Debbi

Covid 19 Stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1PM today - 34,124
Deaths in NJ - 846
Positive cases in Sussex County -  236 - 9 deaths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.