Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Flight of the Honey Bee

There is nothing quite like a chat with my parents and the first bee sightings of the year to lift my spirits.  Just as we were saying our goodbye's to mom and dad, I saw a big fluffy bumble bee fly past the window.  So I immediately grabbed a macro lens and dashed out the door to the cherry tree, which was literally abuzz with bees.  Bliss, joy, smiles!  Hubs kept his distance but I planted myself right in among the flowers.  

Usually in the spring I have to refind my "macro hands" so I was pleased to have gotten some decent shots today.  This is one of my favorites as you can see how loaded its pollen sacks are.  In addition to a lot of honey bees, there were also Eastern Bumble Bees, Miner Bees and Sweat Bees.  I'll put a shot of the Miner in Extra.

Hubs and I also took time out to go to the park for our 2 miles.  Quite a few people out enjoying the perfect day, but everyone kept their distance and most greeted us with a smile and a hello.  A few were wearing masks.  Something that touched me was that the American flag at the park headquarters (which is closed) was at half mast.  Our Governor asked that all flags be flown at half mast, in honor of those who have died from this dreadful virus.  It speaks to his humanity I think.  

It is now suggested that all Americans wear some sort of mask when they are out at stores and such.  I managed to find a source on ebay for cloth masks that are washable and have a slot for a filter.  I ordered three, one for each of us (Hubs, me, SIL).  Dad has fashioned masks from unused handkerchiefs and rubber bands for he and mom.  It's a strange new world we are living in.

Stay safe out there, people.  And be kind.

xo
Debbi

Covid 19 Stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1PM today - 37,505
Deaths in NJ - 917
Positive cases in Sussex County -  267 - 9 deaths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.