Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

For all the hidden heroes

Just ten steps away
The birds are singing their songs
Blissful, magical!

Today is dustbin day and I had wanted to thank these devoted people for the wonderful job they're doing during this lockdown period. Just imagine what the streets would be like if they didn't come by twice a week. 

I had a plan!

Make a 'thank you' poster and stick it on the dustbin container!  So last night, I coloured a rainbow, added a crochet heart with beads and put it all in a transparent plastic envelope!  I wrote the words "Merci de tout coeur" (Heartfelt thanks). This morning, at 6 am, I went out of the back door to attach my small gift of thanks. The dustbin had already been put onto the edge of the pavement for pick-up, so I had to walk the 10 steps I needed to reach it.

The early morning bird chorus was sublime and I stayed a few minutes to listen to it and then take a photo of the nearest tree on my street looking so pretty and full of blossom against the still dark sky.  

I hope that the dustbin truck driver and his two workers that empty the containers will know that we are thinking of them and grateful for their continuing work.

Extras:
The thank you poster
Taped on the container

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.