Moor Sky

There was evidence of rain in the night when I opened the curtains first thing.  We haven't seen any of that in a while.  It was my turn to make breakfast in bed so I decided to take my daily walk early after clearing away.  Even fewer folks out and about this morning, probably because it is still a work day for some.  I took the trail I have christened the 'Bear Hunt' track in the hope that we will take Euan on a bear hunt at some point.  It avoids the popular route to the pond and has fun ups and downs and narrow, windy bits through the rhodos and a climb over a tumbledown wall.  I think he will enjoy it.

There was no one at the pond today but I didn't stop to feed the ducks as I wanted to make the most of the light.  I paused to capture a jay foraging on the woodland floor, not something I've seen before.  It was too distant for a decent shot though.  Once he caught sight of me he was away in to the trees so I resumed my walk up the hill and past my favourite wall.  The young family I had seen leaving our street, were ahead on the track but my way went at right angles to theirs across the top of the woodland at Lady Blantyres.  No mountain bikers or horse riders on the narrow section to the road crossing today.  It's odd how perceptions change as there is a bright yellow sign warning of the main road ahead and it has caught me out several times, thinking it is someone's coat and that I have to take distancing measures......how times change.

I had my part of the moor to myself to begin with.  At this point I always search for a twig to enable me to open the gate to Deepcliff.  Once through I paused to change the lens on my camera in case the deer were about, and had a brief conversation with a couple on the main path.  I went along the path above the valley as quietly as possible but as I drew nearer to where the deer hang out a dog came rushing at me from nowhere.  I guess he may have been spooked by the camera.  I'm not at ease around dogs and stood stock still as he came at me again, growling.  I heard him being called but he was taking no notice at first.

When he eventually ran off I saw his owner put him on a lead, thankfully, and I was able to take an alternative path through the woodland to reach the downhill to our street.  Sadly, no deer.

Time for a cuppa before jobs.  Keep safe and well Blippers x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.