Mono Monday

Trisharooni is hosting this month ( thanks Trish) and her first theme is a favourite thing. 

At the moment one of my favourite things is to hide in the front room with my piano. It was bought for me when I was about 10 and when our children were growing up we had it reconditioned and French polished. It’s been moved a lot of times and last year we had it tuned again as it had not been used for about 25 years. I couldn’t remember how to play and decided to learn again using an iPad app which teaches you from the first things like “this is middle C” ( I remembered that much). Some days I play for a couple of hours and can finally see some improvement. Using the online app is addictive. The old nuns used to hit you when you played the wrong notes. How scary. The app listens to the notes you have played via the microphone and you get instant feedback as to how you are going and awards a % and stars. I’m trying to get 3 Stars on each piece before going onto the next piece. The other students online are from all countries around the world and the music is a mix of all types including classical and modern stuff with chords which I never learnt before. Today I’ve been playing Chopin, Frank Sinatra, Elton John, Westworld, Christmas carols, River flows in you, Bob Dylan etc. I’ve been introduced to music  I hadn’t heard before.  Today’s challenge is by Norah Jones. So a favourite piece of furniture and a favourite activity.

I hope you all had a good day indoors ( or at home) where it is safe. I’m lucky I have plenty to amuse me at home. 

Jobs today...clean bookcase. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.