A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

3 Magnolias

Another busy day. We had a mission this morning. I told Eda on Facetime that I had been feeding the ducks. She knows exactly where they are on Coppice Pond and always enjoys visiting when she is here. When it came to say goodbye she said ..’see you tomorrow at Granny’s house and feed the ducks’ .. heartbreaking.
So with a parcel to post (camera battery cover has broken and needs replacing. I lost it somewhere on yesterday’s walk ) we headed up to the pond for our daily exercise. We were on our own again and fed Tufted and Mallard ducks, Canada geese, the young swan and Coots and Moorhens and took 6 videos of us doing so. Mission  accomplished  - as near as we could in the current circumstances. So off they have gone via  Whats app.
I took some still shots as well for a blip and then inexplicably deleted them when I downloaded them to the iPad. Lock down brain? 
Another project this afternoon didn’t work out either so I went out into the garden for my blip.
I did actually do my Pilates out there yesterday (someone took some sneaky pictures!) and couldn’t help but notice the weeds in the back border whilst lying there!
So I’ve tackled that this afternoon. Incredible number of holly saplings coming up. This was the only bit I didn’t do a fortnight ago. It’s up against the original boundary wall of the ‘meadow’ where these houses were built and I try to fill it mainly with ground cover as it’s out of the sun.
The morning was a bit mixed with sun and cloud but this afternoon has been lovely. Think the Magnolias are looking super. The Stellata is in the foreground and is looking the best we’ve seen it. We had a big fir next to it and I think it stunted it’s growth but with that gone it’s really starting to thrive. Also you may just be able to see the purple blooms of the Magnolia Susan coming out to the front right of the main Magnolia Soulangia. 
Other good news I decided to bite the bullet and ring the Drs as I’ve had a cough since my Christmas cold and from past experience I was pretty sure I had mild chest infection. Didn’t think it was the time to bother them but then wondered if I would be more vulnerable if I did get the virus. A phone call, a return phone appt. and antibiotic prescribed as she could see it’s in my medical history to be prone to chest infections and she had tested me before.  I’m very relieved as I could imagine it going on forever, I kept having to say to people that I’d had the cough since Christmas. Hopefully now less vulnerable too. Excellent, prompt NHS service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.