Birdsong

One of my favourite things about Spring is birdsong, and no better time than early morning.

Whilst J was getting ready this morning, I walked out of our front garden, and then into the back garden.

The local cock blackbird was singing on our neighbour’s roof. I love the clear, liquid notes of a blackbird’s song. The sun was coming up behind, so this looks like a mono image. Just that hint of orange on the bill.

In the back garden a mistle thrush was singing some way away. A pair of collared doves were cooing and courting on the neighbours roof. And a pair of oystercatchers flew over low against the clear blue sky, calling loudly.

And my presence was resented by the great tits who are making the bird box home. It’s only a small garden, so I am often too near for their comfort. They are going to have to get used to us more than usual this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.