pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

This is a (brief) low

Despite a nine hour sleep last night, I awoke feeling a little low this morning. Whether this was due to the inevitable come-down that follows a lovely weekend which included fun, games and general madness with the children, an evening spent in truly wonderful digital company and the achievement of a long standing personal goal or maybe it is the separation from my eldest which has now reached new, unwanted record-breaking levels.

Whatever it was, I was in a bit of a funk and no amount of laying down nor boogying was helping, so with the sun streaming in through the windows and pulling me outside like a magnet, I did what anyone would do to cheer themselves up: I went to the Post Office and Poundland. Yes, in that order! I know! MENTAL, right?!

Not content with sending and buying stuff to hopefully bring a little joy, I needed more, so armed with this brilliant podcast recommended to me earlier this morning and a playlist in development, I set off up the hill to Kendal Golf Course with the intention of then heading out onto Cunswick Scar. On my way up I took a few photos, of which this was my favourite.

I made it as far as the bench overlooking the 13th green, took a Panoramic shot and on deciding against Cunswick because it was so flippin windy and I didn’t have the right jacket on, I headed for home making only a slight detour to look at “The Monument” just off Beast Banks.

The sun shone down warming my face and soul, and as I wandered around the small green there, the majesty of “Clair de Lune” flooding my ears closely followed by “I Wish I Knew How” by Nina Simone, I felt the low gently fall away, replaced by only happiness and gratitude for my little place in the world.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.