pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

K? 9.

Back to work properly today and like any return from holiday, it was – altogether now – like I’d never been away. Straight back in at the deep end, loads going on etc.

I still managed to score some time in the back yard for a bite to eat, to bathe my magnificent, shiny, bald head in the sunshine and also take a photo of the flower pictured here. I am no botanist nor florist, so can’t be sure if this is flower or weed, either way it’s pretty so it can stay for now.

As the day wore on and the sunshine grew warmer, I found myself jonesing for a run, so as soon as 5pm hit, I was on my toes and out of the door. What a beautiful evening!

Having achieved my #5in25 goal the other day, tonight’s run was a effectively a sighting lap to try and a) work out a 10k route WITH NO BLOODY HILLS and b) run it without keeling over or, of course touching anyone or anything.

Some have had a dig at joggers over recent days for running too close and generally not keeping their distance, which is fair enough, we all need to respect each other’s exclusion zones. It does go both ways though, so if you’re walking as a couple or family and see a jogger or walker approaching you, maybe pick a side to move to and don’t attempt a flanking movement? Wherever possible, if we all channelled our inner-Beyonce and went “to the left” every time, surely that would solve any issues? Just a thought, it’s not irreplaceable.

Anyway, I had the most amazing, enjoyable run of my life. There was no time to beat, just a rough route to follow and finish when I was ready, I even stopped briefly to take a few pics. The route was slightly shy at bang on 9k, but although there was still enough in the tank to easily finish the 10K, my left calf was feeling a little tight, so I was happy to call it a day. 

Besides, I was buzzing and to bookend a run which started with ‘Another Day of Sun’ (well played Spotify shuffle), Rufus Wainwright closed out proceedings with his cover of ‘Hallelujah’ which, as I narrowed my eyes into the low evening sun, seemed to be the perfect place to stop.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.