Chat Bench

What a fantastic idea! People often leave things on the side of the road for people to take, so when I saw this nice bench, I went to have a look. Not free for the taking, but a Chat Bench! I saw a young boy and a woman (his mum, I assume) coming out of a shed up by the house. The boy spotted me and I gave him a thumbs up and waved. He waved back. I had to shout to his mum, "What a fantastic idea!" She then told me what was written on the sign on the fence post that I hadn't noticed yet.  "Hey Neighbours! Want to chat? Hit this pan with a stick."  She said that when they heard anyone hitting the pan, they would come out and sit on the bench in the garden and have a chat. I said that it was such a treat to talk in person these days, and what a lovely way to invite neighbours and others to engage with them. Really enjoyed our short interaction! I wish this was a better photo, challenging light and shadows, but it had to be blipped.
Extras: The same people have erected an impressive polytunnel recently. The garden hasn't been used for a couple of years, but it's being prepared for planting now. She said that they've got some seeds going in the greenhouse. I think lots of people are thinking that it would be a good idea to grow some of their own food these days.
Other 2 extras: a couple of "crofiles". When I got in the car to come home after my walk, the crow landed on a post right outside my windshield. Had to take a couple of shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.