Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Whene'er to Drink you are inclin'd...

It was of course Burns Night yesterday, an event I usually mark with the traditional celebrations. In years gone past I was wont to throw pretty big parties and although they've shrunk in more recent years I think this is the first time in a very long while that I haven't at least had a haggis and let the claret and whisky flow. Instead I spent the evening in my own company ...and that of the man himself , or at least his poetry. There are a lot worse ways to celebrate his birthday. My favourite, ever since I was a teenager, has been A Man's A Man For A' That - a vision of the future from 1795...and we're still waiting . Here's a link to a rendition of it by some of our notable current Scots, it's a bit uneven but not bad.

Tonight I partook in Burns second favourite activity - good company and a glass.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.