I've Been Bitten by the Button Bug!

Dear Diary,

Well, I suppose it is better than being bitten by that other "bug" right now!  My dear friend Dotty, who died 3 years ago at 95, had a husband who was a big button collector.  He had thousands.  I would sit with him in his corner of their front porch and he would show me his newest acquisitions or some old favorites.  He always had a cookie tin of buttons to sort through.  When he died Dotty gave me this tin.  It has rested on a shelf in my studio for years.  I got it out yesterday and sat on my porch and looked through it.  Such treasures!  Here is a sampling on the left and on the right two especially fine ones.  The large one is a German military button from WWI and the other is a Royal Canadian Air Force button from WWII.  I felt him sitting right there beside me as I took each button out and admired it.  I miss our conversations, Clayton.

DAY SEVEN:  Practice for Today
Today, take note of emotional responses in the present, in response to what’s happening now. No need to identify the emotion. Just notice.

If you’re not accustomed to noticing emotions, this may be difficult. Start simply by recognizing little things that light you up or make you smile. What delights you today? When do you feel love or gratitude? When do you feel sad or angry? No judgments. Just feel the feeling and let it flow.  View your world through the lens of the heart.
Yesterday's response is here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.