Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Isolation...

We are all living in such a strange time.  Luckily for those of us in the northern hemisphere, we are heading into spring which brings with it nature's symphony of frogs, birds, and insects.  Today, I decided to take a solo walk along a trail that I like very much.  In another few weeks, spring migrants will start to show up along the trail to set up their breeding territories and the symphony will gather many new voices.  Today, it was mostly the sparrows, like this Song Sparrow who provided the upper levels of the chorus, while the bullfrogs provided the bass.  

I passed several other walkers, all of whom moved to the far edge of the trail (as did I) ensuring a distance of more than 2 meters.  And some lovely soul had tied little notes at random locations along the trail with messages of love.  I'll put one in Extra.  I will confess that I felt a bit weepy when I spotted the first one.  Doesn't take much to make me feel weepy these days.

Back at home, I dug up a few things in the garden before retiring to the hide for an hour of bliss.  My favorite shot from this afternoon is this one which on any other day would have been my blip - isn't he a showy fellow?  I also saw my first Chipping Sparrow of the season - just the briefest look.  

I stayed off the news today other than watching the Governor of NJ's daily briefing which was informative.  Our numbers are still grim and will soon hit 50,000 (probably within the next 2 days) but it seems that we may be "flattening the curve" if everyone will just stay the course.  

I wonder what the world will look like when restrictions start to lift?  Will any of us really feel safe being in crowds again?  I wonder...

xo
Debbi

Covid 19 Stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 2PM today - 44,416
Deaths in NJ - 1,232
Positive cases in Sussex County -  331 - 15 deaths

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.