PINK MOON

Before Mr. HCB went to bed, we had a chat and decided that we wouldn’t get up early to go out for a walk, so I stayed up until after midnight to try and get a decent moon shot.  You might be interested to know I was wearing my pink robe and was ready to photograph the Pink Moon at 12.01 a.m.

According to Google, "'Pink moon' is just a nickname from folklore - a reference to moss pink, or wild ground phlox, whose pinkish flowers are among spring's earliest flowers in the eastern United States. April's full moon is also called the sprouting grass moon, the egg moon and the fish moon."

The moon didn’t look at all pink to me, but perhaps it will appear more pink at the exact time of the full moon here in the U.K. at 3.35 a.m. but I have to say that I am not putting my alarm on for that time, not even for Blip, so this shot is the  best I can do timed at 12.15 a.m.

It was certainly a beautiful evening or should I say, morning, with just some light clouds covering the moon and I used my Canon camera with the 50x zoom.  This wasn’t taken using a tripod but was hand-held - good job I hadn’t had a glass of wine! earlier!

I am now off to bed and hopefully will be able to have a lie-in later this morning.  Actually, this will be the first day for a while that I haven’t taken a selfie, and decided it was more than my life was worth to take one of Mr. HCB in bed.  He is extremely accommodating and has put up with me agreed to let me take a daily selfie, but I think even he would be very cross if I sneaked a "sleeping selfie" of him so you will just have to imagine me in my pink robe and Mr. HCB sleeping contentedly.

Good news that Boris Johnson is “stable and remains in good spirits” according to the News bulletins - and we wish him well in his recovery.

Whilst I was still up at 1.00 a.m. I thought I would look to see if Waitrose had released any more delivery slots, especially as we have been given "priority slot access", but there wasn’t a single one to be had - ah well, we won’t starve, but sadly the last of the chocolate was eaten last night, so it would be good to know that this can be replenished soon.

“For when I look at the Moon
     I do not see a hostile, empty world.
I see the radiant body 
     where man has taken his first steps 
          into a frontier that will never end.”

David R. Scott, Commander Apollo 15,
Lunar Landing Mission

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.