The second half of life..

By twigs

Day 14 - Mr Fantail

The midway point of the lockdown.......maybe.  Numbers continue to look good and improve though we're still identifying more new cases - 50 more today.

Interestingly, I had a courier delivery today.  The courier himself took all the right precautions to protect us both including wearing a face mask, standing well back from the door after knocking and not expecting me to sign for the delivery.  Good man.  I however, was a bit perturbed to have received the package.  It was a small pack I bought for my new bike off Trade me right at the start of the lockdown.  My only reason for purchasing it was that the sellers advert said they only had 2 of them available so I took the plunge, knowing I wouldn't receive it for a while but happy to have secured it.  In an email to the seller I even said "Don’t worry – I don’t expect it to be delivered until the Level 4 alert is lifted."

So - it was delivered today.  Yesterday I had received an email telling me "We have registered with Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE) to sell a range of our products as Essential items." 

So which part of a bike pack to carry a cell phone is 'essential' I wonder?  I'm a bit dumfounded - someone, somewhere is not taking this lockdown seriously at all and appears to be prioritising sales over safety.  

And yes, I have emailed the company I purchased from to express my views.

Rant over.

Another fantail pic - I really am loving having them in the garden at the moment :)

Today I managed to finally do what I've wanted to do for a l-o-n-g time - it's just never been important enough to get onto the 'must do' list.  I did a stock take of all the light bulbs in and around home with a view to flipping what I had thought would be the last handful over to LED soon.  What a palaver!!  Eco, LED, low-power, halogen, incandescent, bayonet fittings, screw fittings.......I've got the lot! And is it normal to have 35 bulbs around a regular home?!  My shopping list is rather more than the small handful I had thought it would be but it'll be good to finally get it all changed over........whenever that may be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.