Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

About respect

A sunhat and book
Enjoying the April sun
One day at a time

I wasn't sure that I was going to talk about this, but after thinking about it for 24 hours, I am!
Blipfoto is a social media public platform. We show our daily photos, talk about our lives, read about other people and their lives  all over the world.

One thing we have to remember, and I include myself, is that different countries have different rules and they are sometimes very different from our own. 

Imagine my surprise yesterday, when someone on Blipfoto told me off in no uncertain terms, about going out for short pre-dawn walks (before most people get up). This person does NOT live in the same country as me and we do not live by the same rules, nor are we alike in any way in our attitude to life.  I have decided not to reply to this person, though he/she will probably read this message.

I cannot judge others in other countries - even if their freedom of moving around is much more relaxed. At first, it surprised me, but then I accepted the difference between our countries and how the local politicians and health advisors are dealing with this crisis.

Over here, people in my age-group have been told to self-isolate and only to go out for food (if we cannot get it delivered, which we can),  or medical supplies (though the pharmacies deliver too) I was recently informed that  GPs over here have been recommending a short period of exercise a day, walking alone is best and in areas that are not busy.  This advice is only for those who have no underlying health problem. Country living folk have it easier, but we townies can find very quiet streets and times of the day when nobody else is around. That is why since last Sunday, I have been going for short pre-dawn walks and virtually seeing no one. Occasionally, I see an early morning dog walker or a lone person catching the bus to go to work.

So please, before criticising anyone, look at the rules in your own country and abide by them. I listen to the news daily - and if our rules became stricter, I would follow them, of course.

The disastrous increase in Covid-19 in France (109.069 cases) has made President Macron announce complete lockdown and no one of any age may go out to exercise. These are currently the rules in France. I live in Switzerland.

On a lighter note, I am so enjoying my balcony every day and sitting in the sunshine to eat my lunch and then enjoy a time of reading.

I may delete this very long text after a few days, but I felt the need to write it today.

I don't feel that Blipfoto is a place to talk about politcs or religion or to criticize others. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.