Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

The important weed hatch

Today was a tough choice of which photo to upload from my peaceful sunset walk but this one is relevant to my soon to be narrowboat life.

Currently, I basically own a boat which in the current lockdown I cannot move onto because its stuck in Bath. The current owners have been sending me a number of short ‘how to’ video clips from everything on how to start the engine to filling the water tanks. Two things stuck in my mind from these informative clips: 1. DO NOT let your diesel tank empty, otherwise you have to bleed the engine (luckily I am not unfamiliar with this process from field vehicles but it is definitely not a situation you want to get yourself in, especially if you are in the middle of the river). 2. Always make sure the weed hatch is tightly shut as this can let water in and sink your boat. They mention horror stories of this happening.
I can now see my self checking the weed hatch constantly when I move aboard until I get familiar with how and why this would let water in and comfortable that shut is really shut.

I also finally decided to move my desk about a meter to the right into a slightly shadier spot in the living room/kitchen after finding myself squinting at the screen most mornings as they sunlight floods the room. Now I can observe the beautiful sunlight and look at my screen effectively. #wfhprogress

A helpful mantra popped up via a family chat today which will help keep a positive mindset for the rest of the week:
“You’re not going to master the rest of your life in just one day. Just relax. Master the day. Then just keep doing that every day.”

Basically the vegan version of “how do you eat an elephant? Bite by bite”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.