It's that time again

A busy weekend ahead so I did my long marathon training run this morning. 12 miles along the coast in the cold and the wind. I love running and generally I'm enjoying training for the marathon, but it always reaches a point when it starts to feel like very hard work.

Generally I run on a banana and some water. But I'm now at the 2 hr plus mark for long runs which means thinking about nutrition. I have breakfast, then let that go down, and stock up on sports drinks for my run, to replace carbs and salts used up on the run. I also need to take some energy gels with me too and then make sure I eat some carbs and protein pretty quickly when I get back, otherwise I feel very depleted.

I love my food but I don't feel like eating just after I get back and it's odd to have to take in nutrition in such a functional form. However I know what happens when I don't so it's a case of getting on with it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.