BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 18

Imprisonment - Day eighteen
Wednesday 8th April 2020
Cycling Statistics
Cars - 21
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 0
Runners - 2
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 8.4c

Well I used the cycling app again and it recorded 13.6 miles which is exactly the same as yesterday but my speed was down 0.4 miles an hour.
We had scrambled egg and smoked salmon for breakfast but stopped short of opening a bottle of Prosecco as Ros was off later on her weekly shopping run. We had scrambled eggs as Rachel had given me half a dozen laid by her retired battery hen as a thank you for fixing her bike. Fresh eggs always taste better even if laid by an old boiler.
I spent the day on the Bentley. I'm afraid I keep finding extra bits to do. For example the bodywork around a lot of the bolts which hold the wings/mudguards in place had surface rust causing the old filler to lift and bubble. Last time I did some body work I changed the bolts to stainless which has worked well and stopped some rusting. So the old filler around the bolts had to be chipped off coated with the rust cure stuff filled and rubbed down and as usual filled again to get a smooth finish. Of course most of these bolts had to be in awkward places to work on.
The other extra work which I'd forgotten about were the stress cracks in the bodywork. Last time I strengthened them up by fixing with small countersunk stainless bolts a piece of aluminium behind them. Which to some degree has worked well as the length of the cracks have not increased but the filler and paint which cover them have cracked. So today I ground through the paint and the filler to expose the crack and also exposed an inch of bodywork either side. I then cut some strips of woven fibreglass matting and fibreglassed them over the crack and the space either side. I then covered this with filler and rubbed it all flat. Hopefully the fibreglass matting will hold it all together and stop the paintwork from cracking.
Ros survived her shopping expedition although it'll be another fourteen days before we're sure. She was not so lucky today as there was a longer queue to get into Aldi Stratford upon Avon but it moved reasonably quickly. Once inside Ros efficiently did her shopping as her list was in the order that the items are laid out in the store. She went to get a dine in from Marks & Spencer but gave up as the queue was too long and a dine in was not worth the wait.
After her daily walk Ros popped by the garage to see how I was getting on. She gave me welcomed encouragement by saying it looked a mess. Which it may well do to the untrained eye but I think it's coming on well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.