Long Time Ago

My first alpine flower holiday was a group trip to the Pyrenees back in 1996. I came back having well and truly caught the bug for seeing mountain flowers in their natural habitats. Another trip to the same mountain range followed before I discovered Switzerland but although we were in the right location once or twice we never saw the tiny gem that is Pertocallis pyrenaica, pictured today, a plant raised from seed flowering in a trough outside the flat. This well travelled specimen may not be very impressive but when well grown they can make a solid mat of flower like a miniature aubrieta.

Jamie’s leave is delayed but I hope to have him home soon. To get in some practice for when Jamie comes home I took Jack dog out again today for a longer run on the beach – he ran, I walked! Warm enough to be out in shirtsleeves for the first time this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.