Scattered Sunshine

As if someone had shaken a brush
of deep yellow sunshine,
along the gorse hedge,
to spatter further across the field,
the same shade of yellow,
myriad small round suns:
dents de lion, pis-en-lit,
dandelion or pissabed.

© Celia Warren 2020

If you look closely at the stem of the single dandelion (top right and bottom left), you will see how extra thick its stem is. Even the huge, wide flower itself looked like two conjoined blooms. Amazing!

Talking of 'dents', the day before yesterday, I found myself thinking how awful if someone had toothache during lockdown and needed a dentist. That night, when I was brushing my teeth, a front tooth (the only remaining uncapped tooth of my front four) snapped off at the gum. So I now answer to Gappy! (Strangely enough - or maybe Naturally enough - the same day, my son had been having just the same thought.)

I'm afraid of saying this, as I don't wish to tempt fate further, but the good news is it doesn't hurt - and there are no sharp protrusions to cut my tongue - it just looks unsightly. I rang the dentist and she's put me on the Urgent List and will ring me when she's allowed to reopen. She also reassured me that if it wasn't hurting before it broke, the chances are it won't start to.

There are emergency dental hubs in Plymouth and Torquay, but all they would do, in the case of toothache, would be remove the remains of the tooth. So the dentist advised against that. Clearly, the hope is that she will be able to insert a post in the tooth still inside my gum and cap it. I'm all for that! So, fingers crossed it behaves till lockdown ends.

Pleased to hear BoJo is on the mend. Like him or loathe him, or somewhere in between, the last thing we need right now is more uncertainty, I feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.