An outdoors day

Jon did our weekly food shopping first thing this morning. He had to queue at Lidl as they were only allowing a set number of customers in the shop. Then he went to the coop for a few other bits. We are hoping it will do us for 2 weeks.

It has been another beautiful day, and for once I’m glad I’m at home to enjoy it. Keen to finish the weeding of this, my only flower bed since giving over the other one to my hens, I’ve worked on it all day. It has been a long job because I have been systematic over the last several months, digging and removing every trace (well those I can see) of ground elder. Digging up shrubs and removing the ground elder roots from tangled roots belonging to the shrub. I moved two hydrangeas, and a choisia, and am just praying they would survive my interfering. Today, I only had one small section left, and was determined to finish it. Coupled with the fact that the ground is a thin topsoil, then solid clay and builders rubble beneath, it has made for an exhausting days work. But I’m so pleased with it now.

While I did that, Henry painted the fence with fence preserving paint. He said several times ‘I hate painting’ but I ignored it, and he carried on!! Jon did a job which has been waiting 4 years to be got around to. Finishing the conservatory around the bottom. A coincidence because when I was chatting to Dad on the phone yesterday he asked if it had been done, and of course I said no. I didn’t know Jon had it earmarked as a job for today. Just a little bit of grouting for tomorrow and then we plan to get some gravel Monday to finish that and some other bits in the garden off.

Mollie did a pile of ironing, Dan did a load of washing, and I made a batch of hot cross buns (without the cross). I also had a nice chat to my friend Polly on the phone. It has been a long time since I’ve seen a lot of my friends, and it feels even more important that we stay in touch in the current uncertain climate. I’ve added some extra photos. We have all agreed tomorrow is to be a proper rest day. No jobs at all. And hopefully a bbq.

I’m now going to have a glass of wine, another hot cross bun and do a bit more of my puzzle. I hope you are all managing to enjoy a safe and peaceful Easter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.